There’s a new Boss Lady in town

For the past 3-4 weeks I’ve heard myself say out loud to at least 3 people in my life: I am craving space. I just want to go away somewhere.

Under normal circumstances, this might not be a big deal. Book a weekend away, plan a holiday, unplug the internet for a few days. Except that this urge came at the most inopportune time because 4 weeks ago, my month of June looked like this:

  1. Launch the 5 day True You Treasure Hunt, in anticipation for…
  2. The delivery of Your True You Journey, an 8 week downloadable guide to finding who you are while solving a problem in your life.
  3. Start a group program simultaneously that takes 6 women on their True You Journey together.
  4. Find another 6 women that felt called to attend the ‘Freedom in Faith’ retreat that I wanted to do this July.
  5. Update the 21 page business plan and financial forecasts for our Tilapia hatchery business and complete the loan application to secure half of our start-up cash.
  6. Stay on top of a myriad of daily and weekly things that included submitting two tax returns, and a proposal for a talk at Ignite Cardiff.

My head hurts just reading this list.

Here’s how June turned out:

Number 1, 5 and 6 happened as planned, 2 is about to show it’s pretty face, 3 and 4 are on hold, and I averted a mini-crisis by, for the first time in my life, acknowledging that I was asking too much of me.

I was asking myself to work hard, push through, and sprint the last mile of a marathon, all things that I have done before, easy peasy. In my corporate life, I was constantly juggling 5+ projects in the air while keeping the hamster wheel running. This was expected, applauded, and was a sign of future success.

Time off? Space? Slowing down? I saw it as a sign of weakness.  I held performance conversations with members of my team who couldn’t keep up. Vacation was a nusciance, getting in the way of things that had to be done.

Not now though. There is a very different me at play. The left-brain’s given more air time to the right-brain. The go-getter has morphed into a gift-giver. The high-heels have surrendered to bare feet.

I’ve woken up to the fact that I can do this differently. I don’t have to be a slave to my work anymore. And as my own boss, I get to build in time for stopping.

Because if I don’t, then my work is just another job. My marriage plays second fiddle. The people I want to serve, get trampled on.

There’s a new Boss Lady in town, and she likes to do things differently.

She’s OK with changing the delivery date. I’m ditching the word deadline, because guess what, nobody’s going to die if I don’t do something when I said I would.  It’s great to have a due date, but just like delivering a baby, who usually comes earlier or later than expected, the project might be delivered earlier or later than expected. That is OK. (Of course you probably want to perform a c-section when it comes to the taxman.)

She likes to birth one baby at a time. I’ve never wanted twins, so I’m going to listen to my own wisdom there and focus on one thing at a time. Focus my creative energy to birth one beautiful, healthy, happy baby, instead of preemie quadruplets that need a lot of extra care after they’re delivered.

She likes to be consistently inconsistent. As much as I am a sun-goddess and will find that one patch of sun in the garden to bask in, I take after the moon.  I will be present every day, but my light will look different to you. Even when you can’t see me, I’m there: thinking, writing, scheming, connecting, waiting until the right time to be visible.

She likes to play first, work second. The more I play, the more I imagine. The more I imagine, the more I create. The more I create, the less I need to work. Enough said.

This is what I’ve come to terms with in the past month. It’s the difference between wearing the pants and letting your hair down.

It doesn’t mean that I let myself off the hook and when due-dates come and go, say, ‘Oops, sorry! I was off dancing with butterflies and making daisy chains.’ I still own the responsibilities to myself and others.

But instead of fighting this urge to be more of me… a woman on a mission who glows when she’s chilled out… I’m leaning in, embracing, listening to the chilled out me.

Can you relate? What works for your Boss Lady?

Are you unsure? Let’s have a conversation so you can find out. Get in touch and let’s make time to chat (or use my easy peasy scheduler.)

I also have a gift and a special invitation for you. My friend Michelle McCormick and I have jammed on a lot about how you can slow down, trust your intuition, and create the life and business you want with grace and ease. I want to share our hangouts with you, so visit this page and leave your email to get access.

And you’re invited to our upcoming Coffee Talks, where we’ll be giving you individualized support on how you can be your own Boss Lady. Sign-up to get the details on when, where, and how to join live.


Leave a comment below about how you work best as a woman. I’m curious!

2 thoughts on “There’s a new Boss Lady in town

Leave a Reply

